All Collections
Mentimeter for Teams and Enterprises
For Admins
How to invite, remove and manage team members
How to invite, remove and manage team members

How to add or downgrade colleagues in your Mentimeter team.

Johanna Aronsson avatar
Written by Johanna Aronsson
Updated this week

If you have more than one Mentimeter Basic or Pro license, you will automatically get access to team features. As a team Admin/Owner, you can view a list of all team members, invite new colleagues, or remove existing ones on the "Manage Members" page.

To access the Manage Members page, click on the settings menu in the top right corner of your dashboard and select Manage members in the dropdown menu:

Invite members

As an admin, you can let your team members join your team in two ways – via an invitation email or an invitation link. In both cases, start by opening the “Manage members” tab and click “+Invite members”:

How to send out email invitations

You can invite individual team members to join your workspace or bulk invite team members by pasting their email addresses all at once. Here's how to invite members:

  1. Enter your team member's email address

  2. Choose their role from the drop-down menu. Additional information on available workspace roles and their corresponding access levels can be found here. (The role options will vary depending on what plan you are on).

  3. Click Invite.

  4. An invitation will be sent to their email address. Your colleagues will receive an email with a unique invitation link to join your subscription.

  5. Once the invitation is accepted, new members will gain access to your workspace and, if they're Members or Member Lites, will be able to create and present Mentis.

Optional: You can toggle whether you want your team members to be able to accept the invitation only with the exact email address it was sent to or with any email address.

When your colleagues follow the unique invitation link in the email, they can choose to join your team or sign up first if they don’t have an account yet. If you have sent out an invitation to the wrong email address you can cancel the invitation. In the members list, click on the three dots next to the email address you want to cancel the invitation for and select Cancel invitation. Here you also have an option to resend the invite.

How to let your team join via an invitation link

If you want your team members to join via an invitation link, follow these steps:

  1. Toggle Link is active

  2. Copy the invitation link that is generated

  3. Share this link with the people you'd like to invite

Under the link you can choose if you want this to be able to be used by Mentimeter accounts on any email domain, or only by your detected domains. Detected domains are domains of users who are already part of your workspace. Here we are also automatically excluding any public email domains we can find. All users joining through the invitation link will join the workspace as a paid Member.

When using the invitation link for a workspace that has enabled the requirement of admin permission for colleagues to join, approval will be needed from an admin. To learn more about the "Request to Join" feature, please refer to this guide: How to set up admin approval for colleagues who wish to join your team

Resend or remove invites

In the members list, you have the option to cancel or resend the invitation. Click on the three dots next to the email address in question and select Cancel invitation or Resend invitation.

How to change members' workspace roles

As an admin, you have the ability to change the roles of workspace members. If you wish to modify a team member's role, select the arrow next to their current role in the Role column on the Manage Members page.

  1. Select Member to grant permission for creating and editing presentations without limitations in your plan. This will also upgrade them to a paid role, and they will occupy a license in your team's subscription.

  2. Select Member Lite to grant them permission to create presentations with free features only and engage up to 50 participants per month. This will also free up 1 paid license in your team's subscription.

In the members list you can also change the role of members to give them admin rights. You can assign a member admin rights by clicking on the three dots next to the email address of the colleague you want to assign admin rights to:

You can read more about available workspace and permission in this article: Workspace roles in Mentimeter

Remove colleagues from the team

If a colleague that belongs to your Mentimeter team no longer works in your organization or no longer needs their Mentimeter license, the owner and admins of the subscription can remove the colleague and replace this user with someone else.

How to remove a colleague

  1. Select the Manage members tab

  2. In the members list, click on the three dots next to the email address of the colleague you want to remove from your team

  3. Select Remove from team

Once the user has been removed from the team, they will be moved onto a free plan. This means that they will still be able to access and use their account, but will no longer be part of the team.

Note: Enterprise customers will not be able to remove colleagues, but can instead suspend individual users.

Did this answer your question?